Difficulty configuring new Voodoo2

Started by mxm, 18 August 2007, 13:59:01

Previous topic - Next topic

mxm

I'm new to the Voodoo2 thing.  I recently bought and installed an "Apollo 3dfx Voodoo2" 12MB PCI card (single card, not SLI).  I tried several different drivers from clean installs.  First, I should probably say a bit about my system:

P4 2800mhz with (disabled) inteegrated Intel Extreme Graphics
1.5gb 2100 speed DDR RAM
BFG Technologies GeForce 6200 OC PCI connected to monitor via Voodoo2

When I tried to use FastVoodoo2 4.0 XP and the KoolSmoky driver, the Voodoo2 appeared under "Sound, Video, and Game Controllers" and not "Display Adapters".  I don't know if that's how it's supposed to work, but...

When I tried the LegendGrafix Voodoo2 xtreme, the Voodoo appeared under "Display Adapters" below the "nVidia GeForce 6200" and functioned normally!  I was even able to run Kiss Psycho Circus, with it detecting the card and all three usable available resolutions.  

However, when I'd exit whatever 3dfx program I was running in LegendGrafix, it would send me to a desktop with no start menu and no windows, at 640x480 with my background scaled!  I could tell everything was still there, on a separated desktop because I could open a command prompt blind and alt-enter to fullscreen.  Still, I have to reset the computer to regain control!

Does anyone know what I can do to get it all working?  I'd sure love to play Kiss Psycho Circus again...

Thanks,
Steve

mxm

Well, I tried everything but I still can't run KPC.  Ah well.

I installed fastvoodoo 4.0, wickedgl, and mesafx and tested them with Deus Ex and Serious Sam.  Turns out a lot of the games I have are 3dfx-compatible.

I can't believe how fast the thing is; it outperforms my integrated AGP Intel Extreme Graphics which has slightly more than 5x the memory of the Voodoo2!  In a few cases, it even does better than my GeForce.  Heh, even if I still can't play KPC I don't regret the purchase one bit.

ps47