3dfxzone.it ~ SFFT Drivers ~ MesaFX ~ 3D-Analyze ~ 3dfx Headlines ~ 3dfx Cards ~
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | GoogleSearch | FAQ | 3dfxzone.it
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 Index
 3dfx Hardware & Software
 General Discussions
 Passed 5000 points Wall 3DMark2001SE
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Print topic

Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

osckhar
Average

Spain


334 Posts

Posted - 09/08/2007 :  15:27:26  Show Profile  Visit osckhar's Homepage  Reply with Quote
New World Record - V6k AGP2PCI - WinXP.

I got an AGP2PCI adapter and with the new driver from Koolsmoky I tried my Intel system with a Core2duo and the V6k. Here goes some test: Passed the 5000 points wall. 8)

Intel Core2Duo 6600
Change-AGP2PCI
Voodoo5-6000 3700A AGP @195MHz
3DMark2001SE
WinXP SP2
Koolsmoky Beta




Compare URL » http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=9240496

ps. Pity about PCI to PCI BRIDGE limitation. It does not support 66MHz bus. I tried the AGP2PCI on PCI-X slot but it works to 33MHz. With V6k + AGP2PCI + PCI 66MHz. The card could reach 6000points... :)

Oscar

- V6k Team -
¿Leyenda? ¿Mito? ¿Ficción? No... ¡Realidad!


benna
Average

Italy
376 Posts

Posted - 09/08/2007 :  18:06:16  Show Profile  Visit benna's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Very very good score!
Voodoo5 6000 rocks!!!

my PC:
AMD Athlon64 3200+ - ASUS K8V-Deluxe - 1GB DDR400 - 3DFX Voodoo 5 5500 PCI

3DAnalyze user guide http://www.3dfxzone.it/dir/articles/template.php?id=5
Go to Top of Page

koolsmoky
Moderator

101 Posts

Posted - 09/08/2007 :  18:24:45  Show Profile  Visit koolsmoky's Homepage  Reply with Quote
If your V56K has the Hint HB1-SE66 PCI-PCI bridge, the V56K itself is capable of running 66MHz. Bit 5 of the PCI status register will be set to 1 and will show that the bridge is 66MHz capable to the system. Additionally, you need to supply the M66EN signal to the mainboard to run 66MHz on the PCI bus. You probably need to modify the AGP2PCI riser card to supply the M66EN signal to the mainboard. For starters, check if the M66EN pin is connected to GND or not.

-KoolSmoky

Edited by - koolsmoky on 09/08/2007 18:27:40
Go to Top of Page

osckhar
Average

Spain


334 Posts

Posted - 09/08/2007 :  18:42:32  Show Profile  Visit osckhar's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hi Kool, :)

quote:
If your V56K has the Hint HB1-SE66 PCI-PCI bridge,

Yes, my V6k card has the Hint HB1-SE66.

quote:
the V56K itself is capable of running 66MHz. Bit 5 of the PCI status register will be set to 1 and will show that the bridge is 66MHz capable to the system.

Where Can I check it?

Thanks,
Oscar


- V6k Team -
¿Leyenda? ¿Mito? ¿Ficción? No... ¡Realidad!



Edited by - osckhar on 10/08/2007 09:13:56
Go to Top of Page

koolsmoky
Moderator

101 Posts

Posted - 09/08/2007 :  18:49:01  Show Profile  Visit koolsmoky's Homepage  Reply with Quote
No, you need to do a hardware mod on the AGP2PCI riser card. Read my previous post carefully and do what I suggested.

-KoolSmoky
Go to Top of Page

osckhar
Average

Spain


334 Posts

Posted - 09/08/2007 :  18:54:35  Show Profile  Visit osckhar's Homepage  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by koolsmoky

No, you need to do a hardware mod on the AGP2PCI riser card. Read my previous post carefully and do what I suggested.

-KoolSmoky


Ok, so I will need help. Where is the M66EN pin? On the AGP2PCI? I have checked the AGP2PCI but I have not found M66EN.

Thanks,
Oscar

- V6k Team -
¿Leyenda? ¿Mito? ¿Ficción? No... ¡Realidad!


Go to Top of Page

koolsmoky
Moderator

101 Posts

Posted - 09/08/2007 :  19:48:17  Show Profile  Visit koolsmoky's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Pin 49 on side B of the AGP2PCI riser card needs to be pulled-up to operate in 66MHz. Connecting it to GND signals the mainboard to run 33MHz. So for starters, check if the pin is connected to GND or not.

Isolate the riser card from the system and V56K before doing the checks. You have been warned.

-KoolSmoky

Edited by - koolsmoky on 09/08/2007 19:53:12
Go to Top of Page

osckhar
Average

Spain


334 Posts

Posted - 09/08/2007 :  19:50:42  Show Profile  Visit osckhar's Homepage  Reply with Quote
@koolsmoky,

Check it,



Does Is it correct?

UPDATED:
Cheking side B AGP2PCI.


Oscar

- V6k Team -
¿Leyenda? ¿Mito? ¿Ficción? No... ¡Realidad!



Edited by - osckhar on 09/08/2007 20:05:49
Go to Top of Page

osckhar
Average

Spain


334 Posts

Posted - 09/08/2007 :  20:02:36  Show Profile  Visit osckhar's Homepage  Reply with Quote
quote:
Connecting it to GND signals the mainboard to run 33MHz. So for starters, check if the pin is connected to GND or not.


I tried on the side B with the multimeter and PIN 49 and it is not connected to 'Ground'.

Thanks,
Oscar

- V6k Team -
¿Leyenda? ¿Mito? ¿Ficción? No... ¡Realidad!


Go to Top of Page

koolsmoky
Moderator

101 Posts

Posted - 09/08/2007 :  20:32:20  Show Profile  Visit koolsmoky's Homepage  Reply with Quote
The pin marked in red is not pin 49.

-KoolSmoky

Image Insert:

68.37 KB
Go to Top of Page

osckhar
Average

Spain


334 Posts

Posted - 09/08/2007 :  20:49:27  Show Profile  Visit osckhar's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Thanks KoolSmoky,
PIN 49 and it's not connected to 'Ground'.

Oscar




- V6k Team -
¿Leyenda? ¿Mito? ¿Ficción? No... ¡Realidad!


Go to Top of Page

koolsmoky
Moderator

101 Posts

Posted - 09/08/2007 :  21:40:16  Show Profile  Visit koolsmoky's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Are pins 46 and 49 on side B connected?

-KoolSmoky
Go to Top of Page

osckhar
Average

Spain


334 Posts

Posted - 09/08/2007 :  21:49:57  Show Profile  Visit osckhar's Homepage  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by koolsmoky

Are pins 46 and 49 on side B connected?

-KoolSmoky


No.

Oscar

- V6k Team -
¿Leyenda? ¿Mito? ¿Ficción? No... ¡Realidad!


Go to Top of Page

koolsmoky
Moderator

101 Posts

Posted - 09/08/2007 :  22:17:53  Show Profile  Visit koolsmoky's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Then trace the lines from pin 49 and find where they connect to.

-KoolSmoky
Go to Top of Page

koolsmoky
Moderator

101 Posts

Posted - 09/08/2007 :  23:24:33  Show Profile  Visit koolsmoky's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Looking at your pic, if you trace the line from pin 49 side B, there's an IVH going from side B to A right above pin 48 side B. I bet it connects to pin 48 side A. Which means pin 49 side B is connected to GND.

What you need to do now is isolate pin 49 side B and connect it to a pullup resitor to Vcc.

-KoolSmoky
Go to Top of Page

osckhar
Average

Spain


334 Posts

Posted - 10/08/2007 :  00:27:12  Show Profile  Visit osckhar's Homepage  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by koolsmoky

Looking at your pic, if you trace the line from pin 49 side B, there's an IVH going from side B to A right above pin 48 side B. I bet it connects to pin 48 side A. Which means pin 49 side B is connected to GND.

What you need to do now is isolate pin 49 side B and connect it to a pullup resitor to Vcc.

-KoolSmoky


Isolate pin49 want to say to isolate it by cutting the PCB trace on the side B?
How Can I connect it to the Vcc?

Thanks,
Oscar

- V6k Team -
¿Leyenda? ¿Mito? ¿Ficción? No... ¡Realidad!


Go to Top of Page
Page: of 3 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Next Page

 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Print topic
Jump To:

 

Forum Rules

Legal Info

Privacy

Contact Us

3dfxzone.it

HWSetup.it

ForumZone.it

 

All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners - Forum Graphics and Contents © 2001 - 2014 3dfxzone.it - Forum Engine © Snitz Forums