3dfxzone.it ~ SFFT Drivers ~ MesaFX ~ 3D-Analyze ~ 3dfx Headlines ~ 3dfx Cards ~
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | GoogleSearch | FAQ | 3dfxzone.it
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 Index
 3dfx Hardware & Software
 Voodoo2 Setup and tweaking
 Problems with WickedGL
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Print topic

Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

TeronL
Initiate

Russia


52 Posts

Posted - 12/09/2005 :  08:58:48  Show Profile  Visit TeronL's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Greetings to all 3Dfx community.

I've found some strange bug when try to launch opengl games like Quake, Quake 2 and so, with any WickedGL .dll.

Example: Quake 2 launching, found 3dfx opengl, but when I'am trying to load a level - game crashes with that message:

grTexDownloadMipMap: mipmap cannot span 2Mbyte boundary

Tried to play with FastVoodoo 2 3.0/3.5/4.0 - everywhere that error.
For other example with default 3dfx miniport all works perfect (but not so fast)

My config:
AMD Athlon 2200XP+
Motherboard: MSI nForce 2 400
RAM: 512 (dual channel)
Primary video: GeForce 6800
Secondary video: Creative Voodoo 2 12 mb (FastVoodoo nForce chipset fix installed)
Sound: SB Live!
OS: Windows XP SP2








ps47
Moderator

Slovakia
1461 Posts

Posted - 12/09/2005 :  10:46:11  Show Profile  Visit ps47's Homepage  Send ps47 an AOL message  Send ps47 an ICQ Message  Reply with Quote
..this is usually caused by using the glide2x to 3x wrapper (or some other improper glide2x).I would recommend a clean install of the latest koolsmoky's driver (beta3).(if you are unsure of how to do it,follow these steps: uninstall your current voodoo2 driver via add or remove programs.reboot.download koolsmokys driver,extract it to some folder,open the device manager,find the voodoo2,click update driver,select install from specific location,and point it at the folder with extracted files.click continue anyway if prompted,reboot,and you should be up and running like butter.)use the Voodoo2 Tweaker V1.1 (can be found here) if you need to set refresh or gamma,it works much better than the original control panel when runing under xp.

The 3Dfx Helppage and Game Guide / Voodoo3/4/5 enviromental variables
Go to Top of Page

TeronL
Initiate

Russia


52 Posts

Posted - 12/09/2005 :  12:27:28  Show Profile  Visit TeronL's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Well, I'll try but I've heard that koolsmoky's driver still shows some artifacts in games (Example: Counter Strike).
There is no ways to fix this damn error for FastVoodoo XP?

Ahyway, thanks for information.
P.S. Voodoo2 Tweaker aleady installed, actually I'am use only it for tweaking my Voodoo.



Edited by - TeronL on 12/09/2005 12:28:48
Go to Top of Page

ps47
Moderator

Slovakia
1461 Posts

Posted - 12/09/2005 :  14:00:26  Show Profile  Visit ps47's Homepage  Send ps47 an AOL message  Send ps47 an ICQ Message  Reply with Quote
you will need koolsmoky's driver as base because you have a nforce based motherboard.if you have artifacts in certain games,just throw the latest original glides (ignore the archive name) in your windows\system32 folder.

right now,koolsmokys driver is the best you can get for v2 and xp..

The 3Dfx Helppage and Game Guide / Voodoo3/4/5 enviromental variables
Go to Top of Page

TeronL
Initiate

Russia


52 Posts

Posted - 12/09/2005 :  16:02:41  Show Profile  Visit TeronL's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Maybe I'am just not understand something but this is not a full driver. I've tried to install it but there not all driver files, only
fxgpio.sys and fxptl.sys. Nothing more.
And what I need to do with that?

P.S.Or I must combine FastVoodoo 2 XP drivers with this?


Edited by - TeronL on 12/09/2005 18:40:33
Go to Top of Page

ps47
Moderator

Slovakia
1461 Posts

Posted - 13/09/2005 :  10:26:52  Show Profile  Visit ps47's Homepage  Send ps47 an AOL message  Send ps47 an ICQ Message  Reply with Quote
some files are hidden.the extracted files should look like this (providing your system is configured to show hidden files):

Image Insert:

16.25KB

and it IS a full xp driver.it will allow you to run glide2x,glide3x and and opengl (via wickedgl,mesafx or 3dfx ICD) games,normal&mismatched SLI etc.the only thing that is not included is the control panel,and thats actually good,because the original voodoo2 control panel doesnt work right under xp anyway (and made my advanced settings screen crash from time to time).voodoo2 tweaker v1.1 can do everything just as good if not better,and it works flawlesly under xp.trust me,koolsmoky beta3+v2 tweaker is the way to go

..hmm.methinks its time for some step-by-step instructions to be added to the 3dfx helppage

The 3Dfx Helppage and Game Guide / Voodoo3/4/5 enviromental variables

Edited by - ps47 on 13/09/2005 10:51:32
Go to Top of Page

TeronL
Initiate

Russia


52 Posts

Posted - 13/09/2005 :  12:38:32  Show Profile  Visit TeronL's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Thanks a lot.

I've just cant imagined why someone do that driver ini and sys files hidden. Little bit strange.

P.S. Actally on m OS default control panel work perfectly. But only on FV 3.5 and older. 4.0 even dont recognize my Voodoo at info bar.

P.P.S. How about driver perfomanse? In UT, for example?

Go to Top of Page

ps47
Moderator

Slovakia
1461 Posts

Posted - 13/09/2005 :  14:13:17  Show Profile  Visit ps47's Homepage  Send ps47 an AOL message  Send ps47 an ICQ Message  Reply with Quote
the new beta glides are mmx and 3dnow optimised,and seem to run a bit faster than the regular ones.say 5% faster,but I have only tested with quake3 arena..

The 3Dfx Helppage and Game Guide / Voodoo3/4/5 enviromental variables
Go to Top of Page

TeronL
Initiate

Russia


52 Posts

Posted - 15/09/2005 :  21:18:54  Show Profile  Visit TeronL's Homepage  Reply with Quote
One other thing.

I've encountered one visual bug.

Here is screenshot, click to zoom.
[URL=http://img327.imageshack.us/my.php?image=shot00385pc.png][/URL]

There is... how do you say? White pixels on the asteroid (appear only if the Earth behind).
Is it problems of drivers, hardware (I mean al Voodoo's 2) or my Creative Voodoo 2?

P.S. Textures looks to sharp, how can I reduce it from tweakers or from registry?



Edited by - TeronL on 15/09/2005 21:21:26
Go to Top of Page

ps47
Moderator

Slovakia
1461 Posts

Posted - 15/09/2005 :  22:33:15  Show Profile  Visit ps47's Homepage  Send ps47 an AOL message  Send ps47 an ICQ Message  Reply with Quote
the white dots seem to appear from time to time.dunno if its a bug in the game or what.FSAA gets rid of them,but thats not available on a voodoo2.too sharp textures? well reduce the texture quality in UT,that will make them blurrier..

The 3Dfx Helppage and Game Guide / Voodoo3/4/5 enviromental variables

Edited by - ps47 on 15/09/2005 22:33:37
Go to Top of Page

TeronL
Initiate

Russia


52 Posts

Posted - 16/09/2005 :  13:10:04  Show Profile  Visit TeronL's Homepage  Reply with Quote
White dots appear in some Glide games for example Test drive off Road 2 or Unreal Tournament(only on maps with open spaces), not everywhere, but appear, on edges of textures. So its a bug of every Voodoo 2 ?

quote:
well reduce the texture quality in UT,that will make them blurrier..


I mean how I can change LOD (Detail) bias? In Glide (OpenGL miniport looks fine) the default LOD bias is -1.5, and not every game allow to config it in .ini or .cfg files.

Go to Top of Page

Nightbird
Moderator



1938 Posts

Posted - 16/09/2005 :  15:54:52  Show Profile  Visit Nightbird's Homepage  Send Nightbird a Yahoo! Message  Reply with Quote
"White dots", an "old" problem now but not sure that it was really resolved since the question is "why" ?
problem of heat ?
refresh rate too high ?
gamma settings ? (try to turn down them)


______________________________________________

In-ter-ac-tive :
The way video games were always meant to be played
______________________________________________

Welcome to 3dfxzone.it Community
_____________________________
Go to Top of Page

TeronL
Initiate

Russia


52 Posts

Posted - 16/09/2005 :  16:26:53  Show Profile  Visit TeronL's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Well I'am not a noob and not total idiot, and ofcource I've asked myself this questions before asking you.

quote:
problem of heat ?


No problems, I have a good ventilation of my GeForce 6800.
Look:http://img291.imageshack.us/img291/174/hpim08133vk.jpg

So as you see all chips on Voodoo 2 is cooling good.
I even reduced the clock down to 75 Mhz, no luck

quote:
refresh rate too high ?


It may sounds fun but I've found that its even little better when the refresh rate is high.

quote:
gamma settings ? (try to turn down them)


No luck.







Edited by - TeronL on 16/09/2005 16:28:34
Go to Top of Page

Nightbird
Moderator



1938 Posts

Posted - 16/09/2005 :  17:01:48  Show Profile  Visit Nightbird's Homepage  Send Nightbird a Yahoo! Message  Reply with Quote
Try an other Voodoo 2 (not a C.L) ?

______________________________________________

In-ter-ac-tive :
The way video games were always meant to be played
______________________________________________

Welcome to 3dfxzone.it Community
_____________________________

Edited by - Nightbird on 16/09/2005 17:02:21
Go to Top of Page

TeronL
Initiate

Russia


52 Posts

Posted - 16/09/2005 :  17:29:03  Show Profile  Visit TeronL's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Other variants I dont see to

Well, actually I will buy one other for SLI. If it will work better, my old Creative will have an adventure in a trash bag

P.S. How about tweaking of LOD bias?


Edited by - TeronL on 16/09/2005 17:32:06
Go to Top of Page

ps47
Moderator

Slovakia
1461 Posts

Posted - 16/09/2005 :  18:01:04  Show Profile  Visit ps47's Homepage  Send ps47 an AOL message  Send ps47 an ICQ Message  Reply with Quote
I dont think voodoo2 has lodbias.

The 3Dfx Helppage and Game Guide / Voodoo3/4/5 enviromental variables
Go to Top of Page
Page: of 2 Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
Next Page

 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Print topic
Jump To:

 

Forum Rules

Legal Info

Privacy

Contact Us

3dfxzone.it

HWSetup.it

ForumZone.it

 

All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners - Forum Graphics and Contents 2001 - 2014 3dfxzone.it - Forum Engine Snitz Forums