3dfxzone.it ~ SFFT Drivers ~ MesaFX ~ 3D-Analyze ~ 3dfx Headlines ~ 3dfx Cards ~
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | GoogleSearch | FAQ | 3dfxzone.it
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

 Index
 Gaming with 3dfx Voodoo cards
 Screenshots
 V5 5500 vs GeForce FX 5900 MSI in Doom3
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Print topic

Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Doom
Initiate

Czech Republic
88 Posts

Posted - 19/05/2004 :  22:54:53  Show Profile  Visit Doom's Homepage  Send Doom an ICQ Message  Reply with Quote
www.doom3.zarovka.com

Doom3_Voodoo2_Patch_v1_0 Download : www.voodoo.zarovka.com

XP 1800+@2600+ ; 256MB RAM ; 15GB HDD ; Voodoo 1 4MB ; Voodoo 2 12MB SLI; Voodoo 3 AGP TV OUT ;
V5 5500 with 1xVSA100

omega_supreme
Moderator

Netherlands


149 Posts

Posted - 20/05/2004 :  09:32:48  Show Profile  Visit omega_supreme's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Hi Doom
Looks nice althoug on my voodoo it runs much slower on single chip mode! Ive been busy for a few weeks with doom 3 and mesa fx a while ago. And i also found out it was faster on a voodoo 5 than on a geforce 4 ti 4600. But then again it looks like crap. Im interersted in the test that was done and even more by te results. Do you know anything more about it? because if it runs that fast on single chip.... imagine how fast 4 chips would be


thx
Go to Top of Page

dborca
Average

Romania


425 Posts

Posted - 20/05/2004 :  09:59:45  Show Profile  Visit dborca's Homepage  Send dborca a Yahoo! Message  Reply with Quote
Wrong! Newer games take more & more advantage of HW TCL. 4 chips will help you with fillrate (and FSAA) only. Also, without DOT3 and Cubemap, Doom3 will always look like that.

Regards,
Daniel Borca
Go to Top of Page

omega_supreme
Moderator

Netherlands


149 Posts

Posted - 20/05/2004 :  13:25:41  Show Profile  Visit omega_supreme's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Yes I agree, the image would be the same on 4 chips but the speed not! When i turn of 3 chips and run in single chip mode, speed decreases dramaticaly. When i turn them on again Doom runs faster than geforce 4 but it looks bad. So what im saying is that when doom can run the game in single chip mode, with an avarage of lets say 27 fps, i could get even more with 4 chips Thats what i was trying to say. I now that The alpha version is not going to be able to look better

Edited by - omega_supreme on 20/05/2004 13:27:44
Go to Top of Page

lecram25
Average

USA
327 Posts

Posted - 20/05/2004 :  16:27:19  Show Profile  Visit lecram25's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Of course it's gonna run faster, lol.
That's because it's not rendering all the intensive shaders cube/dot3 maps.

oranges and apples people.

| AMD Athlon XP (Barton) 2800+ @ 3200+ (11x200) | Cooler Master Jet 7 | ABIT NF7-S Rev 2.0 (nForce 2) | Corsair TWINX1024-3200C2 | Sapphire ATi Radeon 9500np>9700np | Sound Blaster Live! X-Gamer 5.1 | 3dfx VoodooTV 200 PCI | Western Digital 40GB & 120GB HDD | Pioneer 106s DVD | LG 52x24x52 CDRW | Cambridge Soundworks Desktop Theater 5.1 DTT3500 Digital Speakers |
Go to Top of Page

Amigamerlin
Moderator

Italy


163 Posts

Posted - 20/05/2004 :  17:18:56  Show Profile  Visit Amigamerlin's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Well for what I know Doom III should run on the first Ge force too than I think It can run on our Voodoo5 too.
Anyway we always have 2 seacret weapon called Koolsmoky and Daniel Borca. Both can try to do another miracle trying to optimize current MesaFx with Doom III when it come out .

Anyway with old card I think the visual quality of the final version of Doom III should be much better then the current one.

Bye

Amigamerlin
3DFXZONE MODERATOR
Powerd By Voodoo5 6000

Edited by - Amigamerlin on 20/05/2004 17:20:15
Go to Top of Page

omega_supreme
Moderator

Netherlands


149 Posts

Posted - 20/05/2004 :  17:23:39  Show Profile  Visit omega_supreme's Homepage  Reply with Quote
d0h im not stupid either i told it looks like crap! But he runs at 30 fps on just one single chip! If i do the same i only get 7 or less.
Now no more misunderstanding :
Doom 3 runs fast on v5 but it looks bad. Doom can run it on 1 VSA chip and still get 30 fps. I just want to know how thats posible. So Doom if youre still there...tell me more pleaze.

thx
Go to Top of Page

lecram25
Average

USA
327 Posts

Posted - 21/05/2004 :  00:14:06  Show Profile  Visit lecram25's Homepage  Reply with Quote
lol, mind you that those are not average fps, but more of a measurement at that instant, i.e. it could be like 7fps if he turns a bit. It's also 640x480 and he must have done some editing in the config file.

| AMD Athlon XP (Barton) 2800+ @ 3200+ (11x200) | Cooler Master Jet 7 | ABIT NF7-S Rev 2.0 (nForce 2) | Corsair TWINX1024-3200C2 | Sapphire ATi Radeon 9500np>9700np | Sound Blaster Live! X-Gamer 5.1 | 3dfx VoodooTV 200 PCI | Western Digital 40GB & 120GB HDD | Pioneer 106s DVD | LG 52x24x52 CDRW | Cambridge Soundworks Desktop Theater 5.1 DTT3500 Digital Speakers |
Go to Top of Page

omega_supreme
Moderator

Netherlands


149 Posts

Posted - 21/05/2004 :  09:47:17  Show Profile  Visit omega_supreme's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Yeah well i have the modified config as well. I can see he turned off dynamic lightning. But so did I. An then still if i run on 1 chip I cannot get better than 7 or 8 frames per second Heres the results of just 1 chip en all 4 of em.

Single chip

Image Insert:

63.82 KB

4 chips

Image Insert:

59.88 KB

Both made in 1024x769, mesa fx 6.1, winxp, am 3.0, Mikepedo CFG, but dynamic lightning turned on.

And Amigamerlin is right. It is afterall an alpha version, Thank god. I know that ID software can do miracles when it comes to optimalisation. back in 99 i could play Quake 3 on a p1 200 mhz and a voodoo 3 2000




Edited by - omega_supreme on 21/05/2004 09:57:43
Go to Top of Page

lecram25
Average

USA
327 Posts

Posted - 21/05/2004 :  17:12:48  Show Profile  Visit lecram25's Homepage  Reply with Quote
quote:
Originally posted by lecram25

...It's also 640x480 and he must have done some editing in the config file.


| AMD Athlon XP (Barton) 2800+ @ 3200+ (11x200) | Cooler Master Jet 7 | ABIT NF7-S Rev 2.0 (nForce 2) | Corsair TWINX1024-3200C2 | Sapphire ATi Radeon 9500np>9700np | Sound Blaster Live! X-Gamer 5.1 | 3dfx VoodooTV 200 PCI | Western Digital 40GB & 120GB HDD | Pioneer 106s DVD | LG 52x24x52 CDRW | Cambridge Soundworks Desktop Theater 5.1 DTT3500 Digital Speakers |
Go to Top of Page

Doom
Initiate

Czech Republic
88 Posts

Posted - 21/05/2004 :  19:11:14  Show Profile  Visit Doom's Homepage  Send Doom an ICQ Message  Reply with Quote
hh
I dont know why ,maybe new mesa?

Yes, Graphic isnt much good ,but im happy from FPS

Doom3 tested with:
Amigamerlin 3.0 +MesaFX 6.1 (cca default settings)
Voodoo 5 5500 (only SINGLE CHIP!!)with my own
tweaked bios (little setup memory,and defaultclock 191mhz)

DOOM3 in 800x600 !!!

Next week I try repair secondary chip and when V5will be OK , I try doom3 again

Doom3_Voodoo2_Patch_v1_0 Download : www.voodoo.zarovka.com

XP 1800+@2600+ ; 256MB RAM ; 15GB HDD ; Voodoo 1 4MB ; Voodoo 2 12MB SLI; Voodoo 3 AGP TV OUT ;
V5 5500 with 1xVSA100
Go to Top of Page

omega_supreme
Moderator

Netherlands


149 Posts

Posted - 21/05/2004 :  21:27:24  Show Profile  Visit omega_supreme's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Ah so that explains a lot. Your chip runs at 191 mine just at 166.
Thank you for the reply. I hope you will be able to repair the 2nd VSA
Go to Top of Page

Doom
Initiate

Czech Republic
88 Posts

Posted - 29/05/2004 :  15:51:48  Show Profile  Visit Doom's Homepage  Send Doom an ICQ Message  Reply with Quote
hmm
Now is my v5 totally caput

Doom3_Voodoo2_Patch_v1_0 Download : www.voodoo.zarovka.com

XP 1800+@2600+ ; 256MB RAM ; 15GB HDD ; Voodoo 1 4MB ; Voodoo 2 12MB SLI; Voodoo 3 AGP TV OUT ;
V5 5500 with 1xVSA100
Go to Top of Page
  Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Print topic
Jump To:

 

Forum Rules

Legal Info

Privacy

Contact Us

3dfxzone.it

HWSetup.it

ForumZone.it

 

All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners - Forum Graphics and Contents 2001 - 2014 3dfxzone.it - Forum Engine Snitz Forums